Spending · Payroll
What do City workers earn?
In 2025, 46,105 full-time employees were on the City payroll. Excluding DWP, whose 2025 payroll is only partly published, full-time pay averaged $143K including overtime, and the City paid $768.0M in overtime.
Headcount and pay
Full-time employees with active job status, what they were paid on average, and the overtime the City paid in the latest pay year.
Highest-paid title$538K average for PORT PILOT II (12 full-time employees; titles held by fewer than five people are left out).
Source: City Controller payroll data, pay year 2025.
About this data
The dataset has one row per person per job, including part-time, per-event and seasonal workers, people who left during the year, and the proprietary departments (DWP, Airports, Harbor): 79,852 rows covering 68,220 people paid in 2025.
The headcount above counts only full-time employees whose job status is active. Average pay is total pay (regular, overtime and other pay) per full-time active employee. DWP is left out: the Controller has published only part of its 2025 payroll so far.
Pay figures exclude the City's pension contributions, which are budgeted separately and not recorded per employee.
Who works for the City
Counts by ethnicity and by gender as the City's payroll records them: full-time employees citywide and in each department, and everyone paid during the year. Counts only; never any one person's record.
Full-time employees with active job status, the same count as the headcount above. Pay year 2025.
By ethnicity · citywide
| As recorded | People | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Hispanic | 18,859 | 40.9% |
| White | 10,442 | 22.6% |
| Black or African American | 6,132 | 13.3% |
| Asian | 5,222 | 11.3% |
| Not reported or declined | 2,163 | 4.7% |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 1,297 | 2.8% |
| Other | 928 | 2.0% |
| Filipino | 547 | 1.2% |
| Two or more races | 283 | 0.6% |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 143 | 0.3% |
| American | 82 | 0.2% |
| More than one label recorded | fewer than 10 | — |
| Native | fewer than 10 | — |
| Total | 46,105 | 100.0% |
By gender · citywide
| As recorded | People | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Male | 32,993 | 71.6% |
| Female | 13,082 | 28.4% |
| Not reported | hidden | — |
| Other | hidden | — |
| More than one label recorded | fewer than 10 | — |
| Total | 46,105 | 100.0% |
4.7% of full-time employees have no ethnicity recorded or declined to answer (2,163 people, 2025). Every share above is a share of everyone, including them.
By department
Full-time employees with active status, 2025. A person who worked in two departments counts in each.
By ethnicity · Police
| As recorded | People | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Hispanic | 5,185 | 52.3% |
| White | 2,090 | 21.1% |
| Black or African American | 1,026 | 10.4% |
| Asian | 862 | 8.7% |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 322 | 3.2% |
| Not reported or declined | 274 | 2.8% |
| Other | 93 | 0.9% |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 45 | 0.5% |
| Two or more races | hidden | — |
| Total | 9,912 | 100.0% |
By gender · Police
| As recorded | People | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Male | 7,256 | 73.2% |
| Female | 2,651 | 26.7% |
| Not reported | fewer than 10 | — |
| Other | fewer than 10 | — |
| Total | 9,912 | 100.0% |
Source: Office of the Los Angeles City Controller, City Employee Payroll (CC BY 4.0). Ethnicity and gender are self-reported or as recorded by the City.
About this data
The ethnicity gap
- 4.7% of full-time employees have no ethnicity recorded or declined to answer (2,163 people, 2025).
- 19.5% of everyone paid in 2025 has no ethnicity recorded or declined (13,297 people).
- 30.4% of the 2025 payroll rows (one per person per job) carry no ethnicity.
Every figure here is subject to that gap: a share of the total includes the people with no ethnicity recorded, so the shares of the other groups are shares of everyone, not of those who answered.
How the labels are handled
The categories are the City's, as recorded in its payroll data; LA Receipts does not assign or correct them. The grouped view combines only labels that are plainly the same:
- Black or African American combines Black or African American and Black.
- Two or more races combines Two or more races and Multiple.
- White combines White and Caucasian.
- Asian combines Asian and Asian American.
- American Indian or Alaska Native combines American Indian or Alaska Native and American Indian/Alaskan Native.
- Not reported or declined combines Unknown, NA, Not applicable, Declined to answer and (blank).
- Not reported (gender) combines Unknown and (blank).
Every other label is shown as published, including labels whose meaning is unclear (American, Native, Other) and Filipino, which the City lists separately from Asian.
A person can have more than one payroll row in a year. Each person is counted once, under a label from any of their rows that is not Unknown, NA, Not applicable, Declined to answer or blank. A person whose rows carry two different labels is counted under “More than one label recorded”.
In 2025, American, Black, Filipino, Multiple, NA and Native appear only in Water and Power's records, which use a different set of labels from other departments.
Small numbers
Cells with fewer than 10 people show as “fewer than 10”. So that a hidden figure cannot be worked out by subtraction (from a department's total, the citywide total, or the other view), another figure is also hidden, marked “hidden”: usually the next-smallest, or, in a department's gender row, the largest, which a reader can still estimate to within a few people. This is repeated until every hidden figure could still be any of at least 3 values. Departments with fewer than 20 full-time employees are not broken down, and everyone paid is shown citywide only, because the gap between a department's two counts would reveal small groups of part-time and seasonal workers.
No one's ethnicity or gender is shown, stored or downloadable. These are counts only.
Pay by department
The fifteen largest departments, ranked by headcount, average pay or total overtime.
Compensation by department
Top 15 departments by the selected measure, pay year 2025. Headcount and average pay cover full-time employees with active status; total overtime covers every payroll record in the department. Pay excludes the City's pension contributions. DWP is left out: the Controller has published only part of its 2025 payroll so far.
- Police9,912
- Fire3,411
- Airports2,713
- Public Works – Sanitation2,604
- Recreation and Parks1,372
- Transportation1,247
- General Services1,105
- Public Works – Street Services995
- Building and Safety889
- City Attorney883
| Name | Value |
|---|---|
| Police | 9,912 |
| Fire | 3,411 |
| Airports | 2,713 |
| Public Works – Sanitation | 2,604 |
| Recreation and Parks | 1,372 |
| Transportation | 1,247 |
| General Services | 1,105 |
| Public Works – Street Services | 995 |
| Building and Safety | 889 |
| City Attorney | 883 |
| Harbor (Port of Los Angeles) | 851 |
| Library | 829 |
| Public Works – Engineering | 728 |
| Housing | 668 |
| Personnel | 504 |
Every department's staff, pay and overtime, with its budget and vendors, is on its own page: City departments.
Where overtime is paid
Overtime by department, as a total and per full-time employee.
The top 10 departments account for 98% of citywide overtime: $756.4M of $768.0M paid in pay year 2025 (departments with partial data left out of both figures).
Overtime by department
Top 10 departments by total overtime paid, pay year 2025. DWP is left out: the Controller has published only part of its 2025 payroll so far.
- Police$315.5M
- Fire$283.4M
- Airports$48.9M
- Public Works – Sanitation$40.0M
- Transportation$22.7M
- Building and Safety$14.2M
- Harbor (Port of Los Angeles)$10.9M
- Public Works – Street Services$10.4M
- General Services$5.4M
- Recreation and Parks$5.0M
| Name | Value |
|---|---|
| Police | $315.5M |
| Fire | $283.4M |
| Airports | $48.9M |
| Public Works – Sanitation | $40.0M |
| Transportation | $22.7M |
| Building and Safety | $14.2M |
| Harbor (Port of Los Angeles) | $10.9M |
| Public Works – Street Services | $10.4M |
| General Services | $5.4M |
| Recreation and Parks | $5.0M |
The highest-paid employees
Individual payroll records with the highest total pay, split into regular pay, overtime and other pay.
Highest-paid employees (2025)
Top 25 individual payroll records by total pay. Bars split each total into regular pay, overtime and other pay. DWP is left out: the Controller has published only part of its 2025 payroll so far.
- 1$948KNICHOLAS FERRARIFIRE BATTALION CHIEFFire
- 2$786KPETER HSIAOFIRE ASSISTANT CHIEFFire
- 3$773KJOHN BETZCHIEF PORT PILOTHarbor (Port of Los Angeles)
- 4$714KSCOTT HILTONFIRE BATTALION CHIEFFire
- 5$711KJOHN ACKERMANGENERAL MANAGER AIRPORTSAirports
- 6$685KJOHN DWYERCHIEF PORT PILOTHarbor (Port of Los Angeles)
- 7$659KJUSTIN JABUKAPORT PILOT IIHarbor (Port of Los Angeles)
- 8$632KMARTIN MULLENFIRE BATTALION CHIEFFire
- 9$625KJASON GETCHIUSFIRE BATTALION CHIEFFire
- 10$624KEUGENE SEROKAGENERAL MANAGER HARBOR DEPARTMENTHarbor (Port of Los Angeles)
- 11$617KBENJAMIN CULPFIRE BATTALION CHIEFFire
- 12$616KTIMOTHY HALLORANFIRE CAPTAIN IIFire
- 13$611KPATRICK LEONARDFIRE BATTALION CHIEFFire
- 14$610KSEAN SAUNDERSFIRE CAPTAIN IIFire
- 15$604KTHOMAS RAYMONDFIRE BATTALION CHIEFFire
- 16$603KANTONIO JONESFIRE INSPECTOR IIFire
- 17$598KJAN ERIK SWARTZFIRE INSPECTOR IFire
- 18$597KBRIAN PETTYFIRE BATTALION CHIEFFire
- 19$595KJOSHUA KNIGHTPORT PILOT IIHarbor (Port of Los Angeles)
- 20$590KSURGEY TOMLINSONFIRE ASSISTANT CHIEFFire
- 21$586KJACOB CRAWFORDPORT PILOT IIHarbor (Port of Los Angeles)
- 22$579KROY PAIGEFIRE BATTALION CHIEFFire
- 23$567KCASEY KAERCHERPORT PILOT IIHarbor (Port of Los Angeles)
- 24$562KSHARON TSOCHIEF LEGISLATIVE ANALYSTCity Council
- 25$560KMARK SAUVAONAPolice
Most overtime
The 25 people paid the most overtime in 2025.
| # | Official or job title | Department | Overtime | Total pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Fire Battalion ChiefFire | Fire | $653,485 | $948,271 |
| 2 | Fire Battalion ChiefFire | Fire | $436,723 | $713,908 |
| 3 | Fire Inspector IIFire | Fire | $424,471 | $603,431 |
| 4 | Fire Inspector IFire | Fire | $396,735 | $597,924 |
| 5 | Fire Assistant ChiefFire | Fire | $395,489 | $786,469 |
| 6 | Fire Captain IIFire | Fire | $378,382 | $615,861 |
| 7 | Fire Captain IIFire | Fire | $375,762 | $609,579 |
| 8 | Fire Battalion ChiefFire | Fire | $351,705 | $631,655 |
| 9 | Fire Battalion ChiefFire | Fire | $351,421 | $625,167 |
| 10 | Fire Inspector IFire | Fire | $351,084 | $533,573 |
| 11 | Fire Battalion ChiefFire | Fire | $340,833 | $617,158 |
| 12 | Fire Battalion ChiefFire | Fire | $338,231 | $604,010 |
| 13 | Fire Captain IFire | Fire | $335,891 | $552,550 |
| 14 | Fire Battalion ChiefFire | Fire | $335,685 | $611,159 |
| 15 | Fire Captain IIFire | Fire | $329,138 | $511,198 |
| 16 | Fire Inspector IFire | Fire | $326,247 | $508,064 |
| 17 | Firefighter IIIFire | Fire | $322,468 | $508,609 |
| 18 | Fire Inspector IFire | Fire | $313,650 | $480,453 |
| 19 | Fire Battalion ChiefFire | Fire | $309,175 | $597,063 |
| 20 | Apparatus OperatorFire | Fire | $307,485 | $505,969 |
| 21 | Firefighter IIIFire | Fire | $304,392 | $502,891 |
| 22 | Fire Inspector IFire | Fire | $304,032 | $475,311 |
| 23 | Fire Captain IIFire | Fire | $302,810 | $519,124 |
| 24 | Fire Captain IIFire | Fire | $301,164 | $506,144 |
| 25 | Title not publishedPolice | Police | $300,465 | $425,923 |
In this table, senior officials are named and other employees are shown by job title. The 100 highest earners are also listed by name above, as published by the Controller. A title held by fewer than five people is not shown beside someone who is not named. DWP is left out: the Controller has published only part of its 2025 payroll.
Employee pay
Search named officials by name, title or department, or look up the average pay for a job title.
Loading employee pay…
Who is named. Senior officials are named with their pay. The 100 highest earners are listed by name as published by the Controller. Everyone else is shown by job title. Senior officials are those the City itself classifies as elected or as general managers in the payroll data (the “Non-represented – Elected Offices” and “Non-represented – General Managers” units), and the rule applies the same way to each of them.
Source. Public employees' pay as published by the Los Angeles City Controller in its payroll dataset (CC BY 4.0, Office of the Los Angeles City Controller), which has the complete records. The latest complete pay year and the one before are shown.
Coverage. The Controller loads DWP's payroll every three months, so DWP's latest year can be incomplete. A row is one person in one job; pay is for the calendar year.
What is never shown. No one's gender, ethnicity or ID number is shown, stored or downloadable. There is no page for any one person.
Download the data
The tables behind this page, with their official source, license and column dictionary.
- City payroll totalsCSV · JSON · About the table
- Pay of named City officialsCSV · JSON · About the table
- City workforce by ethnicity and gender (counts)CSV · JSON · About the table